February 10, 2012

  • Vietnam Part 18: Animal Planet.

    DSC_5843-721-2

    Day eleven starts off with a tour of the Mekong River Delta. At this point, seeing a house boat is no cause to pull out my camera. Until I see A DOG on the boat. And then I’m all *click* *click* *click* *click*. It’s like a real life version of Pokemon Snap. Because, DOG ON A BOAT.

    DSC_5861-727-2

    The first stop on the tour is to see how they traditionally make banh trang. Here’s the wood they use to fire up the ovens.

    DSC_5866-728-2

    I like that the heat over time has cracked the entire structure. It’s kind of neat to see how this is traditionally made- takes a bit of skill to make them paper thin.

    DSC_5888-738-2

    Sandbags upon the bank to the next stop.

    DSC_5917-742-2

    After lunch, we went to see the bee hives and had fresh honey with tea. Here, a rooster pecks away at some lychee, not an eyeball.

    DSC_5930-744-2

    Yet another dog just lounging about.

    DSC_5944-752-2

    To get to the next part of the tour, they loaded us up onto rickety two-wheeled carts drawn by a scrawny little horse. I was like, what is going on?! Us large Americans loading in some six people deep I thought would make the poor horse collapse, but during the ride I noticed that the way the harness worked, it wasn’t actually pressing down hard on the horse and might actually be somewhat evenly balanced.

    DSC_5949-755-2

    During the ride, I leaned out my camera and had it alongside the horse for a lower view. I kinda like it.

    DSC_5964-759-2

    We got off for the last stop on the tour. I felt a little bad for the horse- I would rather have had like a bus or something take the tour group instead.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *