February 10, 2012

  • Vietnam Part 17: Bright Lights, Big City.

    DSC_5654-649-2

    View of Saigon from the rooftop of the hotel.

    DSC_5672-665-2

    DSC_5674-667-2

    The area we would be wandering around on foot until the end of our journey, with Cho Ben Thanh clearly visible.

    saigon panorama 2-1-2

    Stitched together from 8 photos, a panoramic of Saigon. My mom grew up in Saigon, but whereas my dad was able to find most of his childhood landmarks in Hue, she told me the city was unrecognizable now.

    DSC_5678-670-2

    Disparate roofs.

    DSC_5679-671-2

    Cho Ben Thanh, the iconic market in Saigon. It’s crammed with little food stands, souvenirs, clothing, teas- you name it. I don’t know how some of these places make any money because a lot of the stands all seem to be selling the same thing.

    DSC_5694-674-2

    This is some government building which I didn’t realize until I got closer had “No photography” signs all over. A lot of these government buildings have no photography signs outside, which I find a little odd.

    DSC_5697-675-2

    In contrast to Cho Ben Thanh was the new Vincom center, a fancy mall a few blocks further full of luxury brand stores, air conditioning, and a food court with even a Beard Papa’s and Popeye’s.

    DSC_5711-680-2

    I’ve been to arcades around the world, but I’d have to say Vincom center’s arcade might even be better than arcades in Japan. It’s a surprisingly large arcade packed with the latest high tech games and some low tech interactive games like this one. We probably spent too long in here, but oh well, air conditioning.

    DSC_5714-681-2

    This has nothing to do with the photo, but this Vietnam trip coincided with the time LMFAO’s Party Rockin’ started getting popular, so all around Vietnam, the LilBro and I would spontaneously start singing this part of the song for no reason. And ever since Flo-Rida’s “Club can’t handle me”, we’ll also randomly blurt out “AH SEE YOU DEE GUETTA!” for absolutely no reason with no warning as we walked around.

    DSC_5735-693-2

    Thought I’d just take this random picture of people taking a picture.

    End day ten.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *